The Stockade B&B

888-900-5430

Check Availability Buy Gift Certificate

Testimonials

“Across the Pond”
TripAdvisor Review – March, 2014
We are from Oxford in the UK and were touring around the southern states – we stayed 2 nights in Baton Rouge. The staff were really friendly and we slept well in the comfy bed. We met some really nice fellow travellers at the Stockade and had some good and lengthy conversations with them at breakfast along with Steve (Jan’s really thoughtful and helpful right hand man). It is unlikely that we will hit Baton Rouge again but if we did we would definately stay again. Thank you.
“Two Mainers in baton Rouge”
Trip Advisor 5-star Review – March, 2014
My husband travelled on business all his life and stayed in some very nice B&B’s in New England. He thought the Rex Room at the Stockade was the most spacious place he had ever stayed in. We love windows and outside access and the Rex Room had it all. The owner and her staff are exceptional. The whole inn is gorgeous with a large sitting area. Breakfast was superb and the company at breakfast was so enjoyable. Can’t say enough good things about our stay.
Room Tip: The Rex Room is great if you need light, space, and an outside access.
“Really Nice Stay”
TripAdvisor Review – February 2014
Really nice stay in this beautiful house in which we spend one night while travelling with my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary.  The welcome was execellent. We had the blue room which is absolutely lovelly. Really good breakfast too.
For sure, I recommend this place.
“Lovely place to stay”
TripAdvisor Review – February 2014
Stayed only 1 night would liked to stay more but was fully booked. Very lovely place was served a great breakfast. Sammy’s across the street was recommended for dinner, the meal there was awesome. Jan was very nice and helped us find a place to stay the next night.
“Anniversary Trip across Louisiana”
TripAdvisor Review – February 2014
My husband and I were traveling through Louisiana for our Anniversary. Made reservations at the Stockade for one night. Really enjoyed it and wished we could have stayed longer. Beautiful place, great hostess. Breakfast was yummy! Overall we had a great experience at The Stockade!
“Charming & Lovely B&B”
TripAdvisor Review – January 2014
We stayed at Stockade for a night en route to New Orleans, and it was absolutely worth it. We stayed in the ground floor room overlooking the driveway. The place is very well maintained and was amazing, Janice was very helpful and dished out a yummy breakfast. The local eateries nearby are worth visiting.  We would drop by again soon.
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 starsTripAdvisor Review – January 2014
Even though my boyfriend and I live in Baton Rouge, we decided to celebrate our tenth anniversary at the Stockade just for a little bit of a change. We felt like we were on a ‘real’ vacation. We had a beautiful view from our upstairs balcony (the Blue Room); you would never know you were in the middle of a city. We could sit outside and enjoy the ambiance. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the breakfast was awesome. The only minor issue I would have is I wish the hours for breakfast were extended during weekdays, so we had a little more sleep time :-) The hours are extended on weekends, however. We highly recommend a stay here, whether your home is in Baton Rouge or elsewhere.
“The Stockade – A Superb B & B”
TripAdvisor Review – January 2014
Our stay was on December 29, 2013. The staff was welcoming & friendly but not intrusive. We were in the Welch room and it was lovely with cable TV & magazines to read. The queen sized bed was very comfortable. The food served for our breakfast was divine – the best french toast I have ever tasted. Our host made us feel special and the other guests were interesting to talk to during breakfast. Both couples were local which says a lot when the locals stay in a place. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others. The directions were very clear, making it easy to find in the dark. The outdoor areas were nice, both in the evening and the day time.
Room Tip: I think that any room you select would be quite satisfactory
“Throw Me in The Stockade…Please!”
TripAdvisor Review – January 2014
We first began our friendship with The Stockade several years ago when our sons were freshmen at LSU. Although we have family in Baton Rouge, we did not want to overload them for every football game weekend. We looked at the website and decided on The Rex for our first stay. Huge room with king bed plus a queen fold-out sofa…perfect if one of the kiddos wanted to spend extra time with us. We like a cold room and this room has a window unit in addition to central air and we were quite comfortable even in hot, humid Baton Rouge! A small refrigerator is in the big closet and there is a coffee pot…however, Janice cooks and serves a delicious breakfast in the dining room. We have met people from all over the world at The Stockade and Janice makes sure there are brochures, maps and books for guests to use during their stays. We have stayed during each season, when the house was full or just a few guests and it became our Home Away From Home almost from the start.

In addition to spending the night, Janice has helped us host two graduation parties. We had a late afternoon Crawfish Boil this past May with a brunch earlier in the day. The Brunch was buffet style in the dining room and we ate on the side deck which is covered and has plenty of ceiling fans. Janice staffed the parties, I gave her a list and we sat back and enjoyed the graduation weekend with friends and family. We were spread all over the house and had brandy in the Great Room right before bed.
Our latest party was late December, another graduation. I went down early and entertained some guests with drinks and appetizers in the Rex Room and Janice arranged a Bloody Mary Brunch for after the diploma ceremony. Again, all perfect…I provided decorations & purple/gold plates, napkins, etc. and the staff decorated and we enjoyed another great weekend.
When I go to Baton Rouge by myself I choose the Escape Room…it has a great tub…and that is the only drawback to Rex…it has a great shower but no tub.
You will enjoy your stay at The Stockade…it is lovely inside and out. Seasonal decorations add a special touch. Make yourself at home…you will want to visit again and again.  Room Tip: The Stockade website is tremendous…and if you have questions you can expect a quick response.